The place where love grew – Friday Fictioneers

It’s time to write another piece for Friday Fictioneers!  Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts this venture.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

84 treePHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

The place where love grew

The journey took longer than I remembered but, at last, I had arrived.  The house was empty and in a state of disrepair.  The tree hadn’t fared much better. The two huge branches stretched out from its trunk in a gesture of despair.  The hole where a branch had once been was like an eye whose many tears had worn a deep furrow into its gnarled face

 I searched for the place where we carved our initials but the weather-beaten bark revealed nothing.

 I stand quietly.  Remembering.  I wonder where you are now.  And if you ever think of me.

35 thoughts on “The place where love grew – Friday Fictioneers

  1. I guess it could go either way. I infrequently think of some people I’ve known and loved in the distant past. I suppose a tangible reminder might be in order, if only I could find a “remembering tree”. Hmmm. What an interesting idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a beautiful, gentle, wistful piece and you’ve written it perfectly for a length of 100 words. I love the description, especially “The hole where a branch had once been was like an eye whose many tears had worn a deep furrow into its gnarled face”. Lovely writing, Edith.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

