The moment of decision

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly group hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  If you would like to join this venture, do use the link to her blog and let the photo prompt challenge you to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  It’s such a good way to get involved in writing!

 I wrote the story Forging the bond – Friday Fictioneers last week because readers had asked for more of the previous week’s story The edge of uncertainty – Friday Fictioneers.  I couldn’t resist writing another instalment so here it is!

70 window

PHOTO PROMPT © Janet Webb

The moment of decision

In the quiet of their home, they stood and looked at one another.

He broke the silence.  “I came back to announce that we shouldn’t be married.  I was diverted.”  He hesitated.  “That was some kiss!”

 She waited.

 “I’m already married to someone else,” he continued.

 She responded slowly and thoughtfully.  “No-one needs to know that you chose a wife before I was selected for you.  Our marriage offers me opportunities I won’t find elsewhere.  Don’t put me aside. We can thrive on mutual respect and loyalty.

 She turned to the window.  “That’s all I ask of you,” she said.

 

7 thoughts on “The moment of decision

  1. This is becoming a very intriguing and thought provoking tale! Is bigamy legal in her culture? She looks to be giving up a great deal, but what thoughts does she harbour of seducing him and becoming his principal partner? Or is she seeking something totally different? Write on, Edith, write on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

