The edge of uncertainty – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

68 archway

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The edge of uncertainty

The celebrations drew to a close.  My husband led me outside.  The wedding guests accompanied us to the archway, singing and cheering as they waved us through to the beginning of our life together.

 In our new home, he gently embraced me.  He started to speak but hesitated, struggling to control his emotions.

 “I’m so sorry,” he said at last.  “We have done what was required of us but I can’t do more.  I cannot stay tonight.  Please try not to be angry with me.  I’ll return in the morning.”

 I stared at the door as it closed behind him.

 

 

 

50 thoughts on “The edge of uncertainty – Friday Fictioneers

    1. Thank you for your perceptive response. It was, indeed, an arranged marriage. I have found that attention is often drawn to the impact on women of the requirement to comply with social and/or cultural expectations. My aim was to represent a different point of view. More is to follow!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, how horrid. To be left alone on your wedding night… ach, but I know that one too well. We married/ remarried in 2015, and that night Hubs spent all night on the radio. In all fairness, though, it was Field Day (the biggest, baddest Ham radio contest of the whole year!). Much like our first wedding night 22 years ago when he had to leave at the end of the reception to go to work the night shift. One gets used to being alone after a while, eh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You certainly are familiar with the ‘alone on the wedding night’ situation! I hope you were better prepared for it than the character in my story. You certainly sound as if you dealt with the separation with good humour. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well that’s disappointing. I recall a pop song from the late 1960s where a woman who turned down a man’s attempts at seduction when they were single refused to sleep with her on their wedding night. To this day, the song makes no sense to me.

    In this situation though, perhaps they were required to marry to fulfill some obligation, but while she was willing to make a go of it, it seems he wasn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for following my blog. I hope you enjoy whatever is to come. I’m so sorry, I accidentally deleted your comment telling me that you are following. Clumsy fingers are the culprits. They are just not co-operating today!

      Like

Leave a Reply

