Love hurts – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

60 Love hurts

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

Love hurts

We had been watching the building.  At last, it was time to make our move. 

Hand in hand we walked down the boulevard, just like any other young couple in love.

 A car pulled up in front of us and two men got out.  I grabbed Anton’s shoulders and turned him to face me.

 “Kiss me,” I said.

 As he did so, I slid the blade between his ribs.

 He stared at me in disbelief.

 “I can’t blow up innocent people,” I whispered.  “And neither can you.”

 I brushed aside a solitary tear as the two men carried him away.

 

 

27 thoughts on “Love hurts – Friday Fictioneers

    1. Thank you for your comment. The difficulty for her was that they were wearing explosives. If he had suspicions about the two men getting out of the car, he might have detonated the explosives straight away – killing them both and anyone else who was around. She had to kiss him to divert his attention and then use the knife to disable him so the two men could take him away; thus saving lives.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your response. It was a rather different love story! Certainly not the ‘happy ever after’ kind but one with the focus on the love and respect for the lives of other people and the demands that love can make on an individual.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your consideration of the story. I’m sure she had planned it because she couldn’t bear the thought of what he was involved in but pretended to go along with it. He couldn’t be seized because the two of them were going to blow up the building and the way to do that was by wearing concealed explosives. If there had been any attempt to confront him, it’s likely he would have responded by detonating them. I don’t think she intended to kill him but only to disable him. That’s why she didn’t cut his throat or thrust the knife into his body.

      Like

      1. I thought of that later, the danger of him pulling the cord if he got suspicious. (We thought alike on this one!) I did assume she killed him, knife in ribs and all. glad to know it ended better than I thought.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m glad we had the same thought about how dangerous he might be if he felt under threat. I’m also very pleased that you feel better about the way it ended. Thank you for letting me know.

        Like

    1. Thank you for your question. I’m not sure she did kill him. If she had wanted to finish him off, I imagine she would have slit his throat or stabbed him repeatedly. She had the opportunity to do that but it seems to me that she chose not to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

