Hallowed ground – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing!

59 hallowed ground

PHOTO PROMPT © Liz Young

Hallowed ground

At a time of political turmoil, I was forced to leave the place I called home and the man I loved.  He made me a promise.  Each year he would wait for me, on midsummer’s day, at Friars Rest.

 Border changes and hostile governments delayed my return.  Now, at last, I was here at our meeting place.

 I turned at the sound of his voice.  I had only one thing to say.

 “Where is my son?”

 A younger man came past him and took me in his arms.

 “Mother,” he said.

 For the first time in 20 years, I wept.

 

22 thoughts on “Hallowed ground – Friday Fictioneers

    1. Thank you for your comment. I’m sure the man will manage the situation. Their love for each other was very strong and he will understand how essential it is for her to know, first of all, about the child she hasn’t seen for all those long years.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

