The look in her eyes – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

49-womans-face

PHOTO PROMPT © Liz Young

The look in her eyes

I found the letter on the bathroom floor.  It confirmed my suspicions.  He was having an affair.

 My good friend, Lois, and I were going on a walking weekend in the Lake District.  I would talk to her about it.

 We had tackled a steep section on Scafell Pike and had stopped to rest.  I showed her the letter.  She gasped in horror.  Jumping to her feet, she stood staring at me.

 “How could he?” she said.

 I stood up and she backed away from me.  A little too quickly and carelessly.

 “How could you?” I said as she fell.

 

 

25 thoughts on “The look in her eyes – Friday Fictioneers

Leave a Reply

