Stepping out – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

48 mystery-chair-ted-strutz.jpg

PHOTO PROMPT © Ted Strutz

Stepping out

I stood alone while he walked away.  Frustration washed over me like a restless tide.

He had shown me only care and compassion.  I gave him nothing.  Why could I not confide in him?  Why would I not let him help me find what I had lost?

My faith in others had gone.  I dared not trust again.

 The distance between us grew and fear stirred in my heart.

 I set off.  Slowly, at first, and then running.  As I drew closer, I called his name.  He turned and stood watching.  Waiting.

 “There’s something I must tell you,” I said.

 

6 thoughts on “Stepping out – Friday Fictioneers

Leave a Reply

