A new day – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

47-hospital-window

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

A new day

I woke with a start.  Glancing at my watch I saw that it was almost 4.00am.

 My mother stirred in her bed.  I went across quickly and took her in my arms.

 “I’m so sorry, Mum,” I said.  “I’m supposed to be keeping you company and I fell asleep in the chair.  That’s not good, is it?”

 She opened her eyes, looked at me and smiled.

 “Oh, Mum!  I love you,” I said, holding her tight. 

 She smiled again and gave a long, gentle sigh.  Her last breath.

 Outside the hospital window, a blackbird began to sing.

 Morning had broken.

 

6 thoughts on “A new day – Friday Fictioneers

Leave a Reply

