Sometimes it’s better not to know – Friday Fictioneers

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who hosts Friday Fictioneers.  Each week Rochelle chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

46-vintage-cars

PHOTO PROMPT © Al Forbes

Sometimes it’s better not to know

He suggested meeting at a heritage car show.  Somewhere neutral.

 It was a memorable experience.  As we browsed together around the displays of vintage vehicles, trade stands and autojumble, I tried to get to know the father I hadn’t seen since I was a small child.

 I had no idea when or why he’d left or why there was no contact.

 He invited me to ask whatever I wanted.  When I mentioned my sister, he said she wasn’t his child.

 No more questions. 

 The truth hurts.  When you don’t know which parent has told the truth, it hurts even more.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Sometimes it’s better not to know – Friday Fictioneers

  1. I really like your take on this prompt, the scene you’ve set up.

    Being me, I’d always want to know. I came from a really mixed up situation, too; not raised by my parents and my birth mother had a child before she married our dad. I only found out when I was in my 30s, but even though we’ve never met I’m definitely glad I know about him. And I’m glad I knew them, too, and my siblings, even though I never lived with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Iain. I’m glad you liked my response to the prompt. Of all the things that an individual might be concerned about when meeting an estranged parent this is one that really stops a person in their tracks, especially if they are totally unaware that it’s even an issue that will have to be dealt with. Nightmare scenario! Thank you for your response.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was ambling down the displays then you brought me to a complete stop with the big reveal. My heart broke for both of them. So much healing needs to be done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

