The life she left behind – Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly group hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

lamps

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The life she left behind

She waited in the gathering darkness of an upstairs room.

 “Amabel.”  A voice spoke behind her.  She turned.

 He stood looking at her, noting the expressions that passed across her face.

 “I know you want to leave but it’s impossible.  I can’t let you jeopardise your future by going back,” he said.

 For a brief moment, she considered confiding in him, explaining the reason. But it was too late.  She should have spoken out before their departure.  She should have trusted him.

 She looked through the window at the distant horizon.  There was no possible alternative.  She had to go.

13 thoughts on “The life she left behind – Friday Fictioneers

    1. Hello Neil. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. The hint about what’s troubling Amabel is in the title, particularly in the word ‘life’. The man helped her leave a difficult and challenging situation but she was not able to confide in him the full details of her circumstances. Now she realises that she cannot leave matters unresolved. She has to go back and retrieve what has been left behind. I hope this helps clarify the story without giving too much away.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your response and your complimentary comment. I appreciate that. He has been a real help and support to her but she wasn’t confident enough to speak frankly to him and, indeed, still lacks that confidence. I’m sure she will go back. She has made up her mind and will see it through.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I agree with Neil I can’t figure out what is going on and the relationship between the two characters. I want to understand because I enjoyed the writing the scene you set.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for letting me know that you are not sure what’s happening here. I have offered an explanation in my response to Neil and I hope this will help clarify the details for you. If not, please don’t hesitate to ask for more information.

      Like

  2. A well constructed snippet of something much larger – like switching channels on the television and catching 30 seconds of a programme you’ve never seen before. I look forward to the next episode. Great choice of the name Amabel. Very distinctive and unusal. I can imagine her becoming a literary heroine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

