A time to shine – Friday Fictioneers

One of the great things about Friday Fictioneers is that it directs us to think about things we have done, things we have seen or heard and things we have read.  No prizes for guessing what inspired my story this week after I’d seen the photo prompt!

If you would like to become a part of Friday Fictioneers, the weekly group hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, do use the link to her blog and let the photo prompt challenge you to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction!  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

myriad-lights

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

A time to shine

Tonight was the big night.  The annual county get-together for the rich, famous and well-connected.  This would be the first time for me.  I could hardly wait!

 I pictured myself gliding down that magnificent staircase under the myriad lights.  All eyes on me; the focus of attention.  A glittering moment!

 I turned to the mirror.  The outfit was stunning – revealing my figure to perfection.  My hair looked fantastic.  The make-up was subtle but very flattering.

 A voice called, “Ladies, please take your positions.”

 I smoothed down my uniform and sighed.  How long before this Cinderella could go to the ball?

24 thoughts on “A time to shine – Friday Fictioneers

Leave a Reply

