The moment of truth – Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly group hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

sewing-machine

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

The moment of truth

Grandmother’s house was still and quiet – holding its breath.  “It’ll be yours when I’m gone,” she had said, and held me tight as sadness clouded my eyes.

“She died intestate,” my father told me.  “This place is all mine.”  I hadn’t been back.

Fate was unkind to him. I was here, four years later, after his unexpected demise.

The sewing machine stood untouched in her workroom.  I ran my hand over it and lifted the cloth.  I read the words, “Last Will …” and snatched up the envelope.

A whisper of air moved through the house.  A sigh of relief.

16 thoughts on “The moment of truth – Friday Fictioneers

    1. There’s a lot of animosity there, originating in a poor relationship between the father and his mother (the grandmother) and affecting the relationship between father and daughter. Thank you for your response, I’m glad you like the way the story ended.

      Like

Leave a Reply

