Displaced – Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly group hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who chooses a photo prompt to inspire writers to produce a 100 word piece of flash fiction.  Do use the link to her blog if you are interested in joining the group.  It’s a great way to get involved in writing.

wasps nest

PHOTO PROMPT © Janet Webb

Displaced

It had been abandoned.  Its inhabitants had flown leaving no clue to their fate or the events that had overtaken them.

 I knew how that felt.  Change had come quickly and unexpectedly.  One morning, I started my day as usual.  By the afternoon, I was fleeing for my life.  I felt as lost and vulnerable as the wasps’ nest resting on the pebbles.

 A voice softly called me.  “We have to go now.” 

 The waves crept up and gave the nest a gentle nudge.  I whispered my despair into its empty spaces and watched as the sea took it away.

 

12 thoughts on “Displaced – Friday Fictioneers

  1. I found this very moving. I love it when the reader is left with several options as to what might have happened. And the ‘soft’ voice hinted at a further layer to the story. Really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A very effective analogy – the desolation of being torn from your home is portrayed poignantly in your story. Tragic. I like the hint of kindness in the ‘soft voice’. It suggests that there’s hope for the narrator.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

